Title: Brilliance

Series: Book #1 of The Brilliance Trilogy

Publisher: Thomas and Mercer (2013)

Brilliance is a well-paced political thriller that reads like an action movie from cover to cover, which will appeal to many readers.

Nick Cooper is an Abnormal in a nation where Normals are beginning to fear the small percentage of the population born gifted with remarkable abilities. He is also the top government agent hunting down rogues of his own kind to make a safer world for his children. As the story progresses, the premise travels a path both moral and visceral as the truths he discovers are not as certain as his ability to absolutely believe them.

I have only one thing negative to say to Mr. Sakey:
‘Super Hot’ is neither a character trait, nor a super power. The shallow drawing of many of the characters, both male and female, is a bit of a disappointment from an author that is as experienced and talented as Marcus Sakey.

I am still going to read the rest of the series, and I expect to enjoy them all.

Check back! This  review will have all three books in the series (Brilliance, A Better World, and Written In Fire which releases Jan. 12) after Jan. 15, 2016.

A galley was provided for free by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s